Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

‘Don’t worry’ says Wenger, ‘Worry’ says I

Posted by James Dall on 30, November 2006

We have character and we will respond, don’t worry

Well we are worried Arsene. Third away defeat in a row. This one apparently we did not even deserve anything out of it. I did not manage to get to see it. I was having kittens watching sky sports news. I was in sheer disbelief when I saw 2-0 on the screen. It finished 2-1 through a Van Persie free kick, we did have a goal ruled out for offside and did hit the woodwork but the match statistics tell the story, we did not deserve anything. Senderos was sent off and now is suspended for the Chelsea game, Toure was booked so the same goes for him apparently. I hope to god Gallas is back by then so Djourou can partner him, otherwise maybe we should slot Song in there…

The starting line-up was way off what I expected. I am not sure anyone could have predicted it. Eboue and Clichy dropped and replaced with Hoyte and Flamini – mistake number one. I know I have moaned about both of our full backs recently but

if you cannot replace them with quality don’t do it at all. Maybe Wenger underestimated Fulham, if he did he is a fool. Mistake number two – Song. My goodness I have never rated him and sure I did not see his performance but he has been hammered for it. Sky Sports player ratings gave him a 4. My worry is he could be the midfield version of Cygan. However in midfield you are more exposed – it makes me cringe. Wenger persisted with a player not up to the standard with Cygan, the only explanation I could think of in training he was unreal – scoring hat tricks the lot. I doubt the ame can be said for Song – he is slow I am not sure what he provides us with. He went off at half time.

I really did not expect this result, and to be honest right now I fear for the team. Confidence cannot be high. Spurs at home next. I am not going to ‘expect’ a performance this time. I do not really expect much.

I could ramble on for ages about how we need strengthening, how we need power, how we need aggression. And how we bloody need to revert back to the 4-4-2, ah…

I have too much uni work to be getting on with. Maybe tomorrow I will be in a better mood.

Leave a Reply

 
