Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Lauren, the model professional, leaves Arsenal

Posted by James Dall on 18, January 2007

Evening, no blog yesterday and a late one today.

University work has been an absolute pain over the last couple of days, I apologise. Coupled with this, we had a power cut today, what on earth did people do when there was no electricity?

Lucky for me news has been fairly slim.

Working towards the more recent stories, the first thing thing is the whole ticket situation. Most of what can be said, has been said. So I shall not add any more.

The youth team beat Hull City to progress to the 5th round of the cup. Well done boys.

van Persie could still be fit for the weekend’s clash –

At the moment we think it is a very short-term problem. He is going for a scan and after that we will know more about it. He still has a very good chance of being available for Sunday.

Without a shadow of a doubt to have him fit will be a bonus. There is much debate of what system we will play and who might partner Thierry. Tomorrow I shall talk about this issue in further depth. Like I said though, even if van Persie does not start it will be a major bonus for him to be on the bench, he is the sort of player who can conjure something out of nothing. Other injury news is as follows –

Eboue will be available. But Ljungberg and Gallas are still out.

No surprises there really. Whether Eboue or Hoyte will start will be determined on how fit Eboue is I guess. More tomorrow on this matter. So then, the big story of the day… Lauren…

He has gone, moved to Portsmouth. A loss for the club but maybe it was the right time for him to move on. The youngsters have taken their opportunity but Lauren’s contribution over the seasons must not be forgot. He was an excellent player for us. The thing I admire most about him is summed up in the following –

I have made many great friends and have many wonderful memories from the years I have spent at Arsenal. I have enjoyed great success with the Club and I am very grateful to Arsène Wenger, my team mates and all the fantastic Arsenal fans for their support. The fans have been brilliant. Of course I am sad to be leaving Arsenal, but am I am very much looking forward to a new challenge at Portsmouth.

What a top man. Can you imagine Cole or Reyes saying that? No. He is a professional. I respect him and wish him all the best.

That is it for now, a longer more thorough blog tomorrow. Oh and by the way, it is Friday tomorrow. Hurrah!

2 Responses to “Lauren, the model professional, leaves Arsenal”

  1. amiripz said

    What a shame to see such a professional player like Lauren leave Arsenal.
    He said good bye in a manner every player should and not like Reyes who will never grow up.

    I wish him all the best in his further career.

  2. banyuken said

    I’m from Seville, the city of Lauren and Arsenal. For you, Lauren is the hero, but for us, by the contrary, is Reyes. Lauren was tricky with us to go out to Levante UD (another team). We’ll not forget Reyes, though I know he’s like Peter Pan XDD.

Leave a Reply

 
