Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Who else is fed up of misleading headlines on NewsNow?

Posted by James Dall on 29, January 2007

I have talked about this before. I am sure I am not alone but I guess I need reassurance. Arselblogger from Arseblog feels the same way but do you?

It is unbelievably frustrating logging onto the Arsenal section of NewsNow, seeing  a headline, getting all excited, clicking on it only to discover the article does not hold any relevance.

Why do people do this? Mainly to grab hits. It’s embarrassing. If you agree and have a few seconds spare, leave a comment declaring your frustration…

23 Responses to “Who else is fed up of misleading headlines on NewsNow?”

  1. Eddie said

    yeah mate, it’s fooking rubbish.

  2. hagis said

    There is a definite need for NewsNow users to be able to issue their own “exlcude” options to filter out sites that they do not like to view.

    As it is the service is next to unusable because of sites that repackage, even their own headlines to grab hits. Of course you have the choice of not clicking on anyting coming from i.e. vitafootball but the exclusion option would add real worth to NewsNow

  3. steve said

    Very annoying.

  4. NN said

    I do so feel the same way… There is just way to much crap there nowadays.
    your headline was though spot on and not misleading 😉
    Keep up the good work

  5. Rahoo said

    I agree..oh look …we’re signing a star…oh it was in the papers 3 weeks ago, and that bloody soccornet one…where do I live before I access the site…piss off thats where I live you nosey buggers….

  6. Goonerreed said

    Those dodgy sites are a disgrace, and quite frankly get in the way of kosher sites and those that are ‘genuine’ in making it clear they’re presenting something they’ve heard from a friend of a friend.
    The dodgy sites just lie in the headlines, but if people click through then i don’t blame them doing it. People have to be clued up and try to ignore them.

  7. Rupe said

    NewsNow is what it is, unfiltered and uncritical. Everything is there, and that’s its strength as well as its weakness.

    If you don’t like it, don’t use it. Use something like goonernews.com which is much more selective.

  8. dawn said

    !@#$%^&*(*&^%$#@#$%^&*&^%$# son of those bitches wasting my god damn time…..

  9. timmy said

    so true, it’s spamming of third degree

  10. Donjohnni said

    Unfortunately newsnow is sustained by articles that draw the most hits, truthful or not.

  11. errol said

    i agree – have been checking out newsnow for over a year and is so annoying. I know the sites that details nonsense or minimal content not worth typing… but I still click on the beep! beep! beep! sites just hoping that this could be the one… HELP!!!

  12. Salvador said

    Yes I agree. It is annoying. I have been using News Now for over 10 years so I think I am something of an authority on everything.

  13. dobata said

    couldn’t agree more, but that’s the way it works and is highly unlikely to change

  14. Yazeed said

    i’ve seen it forever now
    but i got used to the sites i usually read
    now, even if i see a sensational headline, i check the source, and i would know if it is for real or not
    i think we should write to newsnow, and remove them from the arsenal feed

  15. bill said

    arse? are you allowed to say ARSE? Shit yeah, but ARSE?

  16. dino said

    yeah its mostley bollocks and i dont check news now that much 4 this reason .its either all the same with different titles or drogba is going to everton and henry to liverpool and me upfront with van persie

  17. […] have moaned about NewsNow before so I shall not repeat myself. All in all a moan feels good and I think I am right to vent my […]

  18. Rio Abdullah said

    absolutely rubbish

  19. Sue said

    Fed up moaning about it, so I don’t bother going on to those sites that are the main culprits

  20. Gale said

    I feel the same way — would appreciate suggestions of more reliable websites. I’m an American Gooner and really don’t know which ones to believe. Many thanks!

  21. Ferguson said

    I am glad I found your blog on bebo. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my friend were just preparing to do some research about this. I am happy to see such reliable info being shared freely out there.
    Regards,
    Ajith from Philadelphia city

  22. Appreciation to my father who told me about this weblog,
    this weblog is in fact remarkable.

  23. Catharine said

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with helpful info to work on.
    You have performed a formidable process and our whole neighborhood will be thankful to you.

Leave a Reply

 
