Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Starting line-up thoughts + keeper debate

Posted by James Dall on 3, February 2007

Hi there, I better get straight on with it, I have an assignment to do.

I shall get the stories that are not relevant to today’s game out of the way first. Rosicky talks about how him and Thierry have a fantastic understanding in the way that they play. However he is frustrated about his lack of goals in the Prem. I believe in him, plus aside from the fact he has yet to score his all round contribution has been top notch. A goal today from him though would be most welcome. Arsene is pleased that Bale did not leave Southampton –

Yes, that’s right. The good thing is that we still have a chance. He’s a special talent.

Interesting that we still might be in for him. Especially as we have Clichy and Traore, all will be revealed in the summer I guess. The following comments from Arsene really intrigued me –

To work well in the future, a club like ours should only have to buy the exceptional players. We should have a good enough squad to fight for the rest. I didn’t buy anybody in the transfer window because there’s no point bringing average players in.

So for me that means we will only now be buying wonderkids or well established world class players. That sounds good to me. He can start with buying an amazing goalkeeper in the summer. Despite what he said about Almunia pushing for a first team spot, and also despite the fact Almunia has been sound this season, for me I would be disappointed if he was to become our number one. Jens has been brilliant for a few seasons now, and now we need an immense keeper to replace him. You can read Arsene’s comments on the goalkeeper fiasco here.

As suspected the injury to Robin mean that Aliardiere did not move to Middlesbrough –

It was an option we considered and he considered. But the injury to Robin van Persie killed that possibility.

Moving onto team news then –

Adebayor is going to be OK but Eboue is out. We have lost Diaby, but it will be for a short time — only a week. I was scared it could be longer. Djourou is back in the squad. Gallas, Ljungberg and Hleb are out but they are all very close. Denilson is in the squad with us. He has quickly come out and shown personality. I feel he is one of the candidates for the midfield now.

A huge relief that Diaby is only out for a week. With some of our more experienced players close to a return our squad will start to look a lot more established. We are a bit thin on the ground at the moment but we have been very unlucky with injuries. A real boost for Denilson, he has shown what a quality player he is and has been rewarded with a place in the squad. So to my thoughts on the probable starting line-up –

Henry, Adebayor

Rosicky, Fabregas, Gilberto, Walcott

Clichy, Senderos, Toure, Hoyte

Lehman

I presume Adebayor is 100% otherwise might we see Aliardiere up there? What other options do we have for the right wing? I am frustrated at how many fools are getting on Theo’s back. Lay off him. Anyway I am pretty sure that is how we will line up but I look forward to your opinions. I shall be watching the game on live stream later, come on the Arsenal…

4 Responses to “Starting line-up thoughts + keeper debate”

  1. Denilson/Cesc will boss said

    where can you find streams? please

  2. Good question, my suggestion would be the following site –

    http://www.live-footy.org/sat3.2/Middlesbrough_Arsenal2.html

    the instructions are at the top of the screen, obviously wait until kick off tho!

  3. Denilson/Cesc will boss said

    cheers. Keep up the good work.

  4. Andrew said

    adebayor is briliant but the injuries we have now we have to be careful not to play henry 90 minutes

Leave a comment