Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

I was right to worry about the F.A. + starting line-up

Posted by James Dall on 28, February 2007

Good morning ladies and gentleman. A quick blog today as I have plenty of work to do.

As expected the F.A.has upset me…

Adebayor will still serve his three match ban – great. I agree that he did not leave the field in the quietest of manners but he was wrongfully sent off so surely an moron can tell that that would spark someone off. What do they expect? ‘Oh a red card, ah but I did not do anything and my team is losing, oh ok fair enough I better leave the field of play’. Pathetic.

So Toure’s ban remains three games, that is of course disappointing but he has played a lot of game this season and the rest will do him good. He should come back fresh and even hungrier for success. Eboue has been charged too but has until this evening to respond. Adebayor can respond too. If I were Adebayor I would appeal, if I were Eboue I would take the three match ban I suppose. What is frustrating is that the entire matter could have been dealt with a yellow card for Toure and Mikel. I understand that that sort of reaction is not what we want to see, especially with children watching but it shows the players care. No one actually got violent – it was hand bags. But there you go, I said yesterday the F.A. worry me and I was right to worry.

Mark Hughes has said some nice thins about Arsenal here. Quite surprisingly really. This in particular on the whole Fabregas thing –

The young man came in and apologised and he said it with sincerity, so I accepted it readily. He made the point that he wants to win every game and when he doesn’t he gets frustrated.

The press just decided to blow the whole thing out of proportion as usual. In other news Robinho has apparently had a 12.1 million pound price tag on him. There is no doubting that we might be in the market for a wide player in the summer, I would be surprised if we went for him though. He is fast and skillful but the physicality of the Premiership might cause him problems. Fabregas has once again dismissed the rumour or him moving to another club, this time Real Madrid.

Ok moving on then to the team news for tonight. To say we have a few players out would an understatement. The list of players out is as follows – Adebayor (suspended), Thierry Henry (foot), Tomas Rosicky (groin). Abou Diaby (ankle), Kolo Toure (suspended), Fabregas (rested), Justin Hoyte (Hamstring), Johan Djourou (ankle) and then Mathieu Flamini/Clichy are only possiblities.

We do have Gallas and Freddies back though. Baring this all in mind my team would be –

Aliadiere, Baptista

Ljungberg, Denilson, Gilberto, Hleb

Clichy/Traore, Senderos, Gallas, Eboue

Almunia

Please feel free to agree or disagree. To be honest our options are pretty limited. Enjoy your Wednesday, and remember if you have time you can sign up to the blog so it is delivered to your inbox (right hand side below red RSS button) or add a live bookmark (red RSS button) or even add it old school style to your favourites. Here is hoping for a Gunners win for tonight. Come on the reds!

15 Responses to “I was right to worry about the F.A. + starting line-up”

  1. AusGunner said

    I’m willing to bet that we’ll buy Ribery in the summmer. The possibility has kinda not come up recently but I really do think it’ll happen.

  2. nic said

    lets play walcott up front

  3. mr serge said

    I also think theo should be given a run out up front, i like alliadierre but he has to prove he has the cutting edge to stay here next season

  4. Matt said

    yeah i agree with the team you put out. not much of an option.. who for the bench? randall, simpson, lansbury?

    i’d like theo up top in place of aliadiere as reward for his goal, but as he’s carrying a shoulder injury.

    would be worried about putting denilson out again for tiredness but there’s no option.

    am gutted hoyte and djourou are out as it means we have to play eboue. who ni’d rather didnt play for arsenal again now. enough is enough.

  5. mr serge said

    I also think that ade should appeal it is ridiculous to say he was doing anything other than stopping the trouble, that line up you have is definately good enough to win tonight

  6. Hothead_Gooner said

    Mr Serge…I think Aliadere would be much much better suited in a wide position on the left or right, which would mean we woudn’t need to buy a wide player. It really would be sad to let him go after 7/8 years of being here and being continually injured, Wenger has been waiting for so long. I think he has the dribbling ability to be a pure winger.

  7. tagyal said

    Hang on there mate…I thought Eboue is banned for 3 matches.

  8. From what I am aware the ban has not come into effect for Eboue as he has until this evening uto respond.

  9. Mickeyboy said

    Eboue ban will start around mid march.

  10. melvyn said

    Am I the only person that believes that Bennet bottled sending Essien off and that that contributed to Toures frustration and uncharecteristic explosion.

    Spot on for tonights team – big Phil still worries the life out of me but at least Flaminin is out.

    Toure & Ade should be refreshed for the PSV game.

  11. melvyn said

    The thing from tring is doing his best to knock us out of the FA cup – referees bottling decisions once again.

  12. melvyn said

    Graham Poll 1 Arsenal 0 – I’ve had it with these cheating referees – they give teams liscence to kick us all over the park – miss clear cut pens in our favour . We have played so well in the last two games and our prize is nothing .

  13. Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn. This is a really well
    written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to
    learn extra of your helpful information. Thank you for
    the post. I will definitely return.

  14. Thanks to my father who informed me on the topic of this web site, this blog is
    genuinely remarkable.

  15. It allows you to instantly see information such as
    how loose or tight a player is or how passive or aggressive a player is.
    According to the Guinness Book of Records, 2,280 people participated in it.
    Learn to find out how you playing cards match towards the opposite
    probable cards in your opponent’s hands. Every player that
    is not in the advanced skill category should stick to
    limit games, going no further than pot limit games.

Leave a Reply

 
