Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Walcott to slot in up front?

Posted by James Dall on 2, March 2007

It is Friday – yay. Good in some ways as it means it is the weekend tomorrow, bad in that it means I am a day closer to handing in my assignment (due for Monday). Anyway, not much going on this morning, especially as I published the blog late last night. This has meant there are not too many stories for me to cover. Therefore I just plan to take a good look at who is available for tomorrow’s game.

Ok, players unavailable are – Adebayor, Eboue, Toure (all suspended), Henry (foot), Rosicky (groin), Diaby (ankle), Justin Hoyte (hamstring), Mathieu Flamini (foot) and Robin van Persie (foot).

…great.

Players returning to the squad are – Fabregas and Djourou.

This weekend is a game we must win, we must get back to winning ways. We are home to Reading, when we travelled there they allowed us a lot of time and space and we punished them with some beautiful football. I cannot see Steve Coppell allowing that to happen again. Therefore we have to be on top of our game.

There are several things to consider with regards to who plays tomorrow. Up top we could go with Aliadiere and Baptista but I am aware there is a lot of people crying out to see Walcott start up there. I have to say I think it is a possibility. Up front we have looked pretty useless recently, our only goal in four games has come from Theo. My only doubt would be the fact that Theo is carrying this shoulder injury, plus there is the reluctance from Wenger to play up front. He has been known to surprise a few people before though. If Theo were to start would he be partnered by Aliadiere or Baptista? It is an interesting one, Baptista appears to take up good positions but his touch tends to let him down. Aliadere is full of running, he is fast and surprisingly strong. Personally I would go with Baptista. People continue to write him off but I still feel he has something to offer. In midfield I imagine things will be pretty similar to the Blackburn game but with Fabregas in for Denilson. At the back is Clichy available? I presume so, thereore he slots in for Traore. The only other thing to discuss is who plays at right back. Do we slot Gallas in there and Djourou along side Senderos or does Djourou move there and Gallas partners Senderos. One thing I do know is that Senderos will not be playin right back. Baring all this in mind the starting line-up I would go with is –

Walcott, Baptista

Ljungberg, Fabregas, Gilberto, Hleb

Clichy, Senderos, Djourou, Gallas

Lehman

Our options at the moment are so limited, I feel that moving Walcott up front could give us something a bit different and shake things up slightly. Right now we are lacking a finish to our, might Walcott be the answer? One thing I do know is that Robin van Persie cannot return soon enough.

Remember that you can subscribe to the blog and have it sent to your email inbox each day here. Or you can add a live feed here, so your feed is immediately updated when I publish a new blog. For the first time in a long while our game is not live however if you want to watch it online there is a good site here.

The blog tomorrow should have a bit more depth after Arsene’s press conference. Enjoy your Friday.

9 Responses to “Walcott to slot in up front?”

  1. Rickster said

    I doubt Wenger will have Walcott upfront from the start preferring to play Jeremie A up there instead. I expect to see him on as a sub. To many injuries…nice to have Gallas back though, but why on heavens earth didn’t Wenger place him at right back mid-week instead of Senderos. We may well have still been in the FA Cup 😦

  2. kayan said

    im not convinced wenger would use walcott as a foward this season, i think le boss will probably stick with aliadierre and baptista. i dont think ljunberg will start either, i think denison has impressed so much that he may get a crack out on the right with hleb on the left.

    my predicted line-up:

    aliadierre baptista

    hleb gilberto cesc denilson

    clichy senderos gallas djourou

    lehmann

  3. JLo said

    I am not 100% sure but I think Clichy’s booking against Blackburn gives him a one match ban against Reading.

  4. aj said

    I would go with your team, except that I would replace Ljungberg with Aliadiere. I think JA is actually better playing wide and Walcott better in the middle.

    I also think that Clichy is suspended for this game.

  5. Flint McCullough said

    Clichy does not appear on the FA’s suspended or waiting suspension list, which is interesting because David Dunne, who picked up his 5th card on Wednesday, is on the waiting list.

    I would like to see Jeremie & Theo alternating from the flanks & centre, with the Beast.

    Trouble is if they all play we will not have a striker to bring on.

    Tomorrow will be a very difficult game. The good thing is Reading should come to play.

  6. Mickeyboy said

    COME ON ARSENAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. tramadol prescription online prescription no tramadol

  8. hentai xxx grope xxx grope hentai

  9. part car information this part car

Leave a Reply

 
