Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Rumourville, i.e. takeover and transfers

Posted by James Dall on 6, April 2007

Good Morning, what a beautiful day. The sun is shining and despite knowing I have to get a good chunk of my dissertation done today, my spirits are high.

I shall begin with an interesting piece that appeared on the Sky Sports website yesterday, basically it highlights how many late goals we have scored this season, indicating what we already knew – early on in games we have either been sluggish or missed chances. If games had finished on 80 minutes, we would be the worst losers, we would be sitting in seventh. I know it is only fictional but it is interesting I feel. It just seems to me this season that gone are the days we start a game at 100 miles per hour, notching up two or three goals in the first thirty minutes. I use to love that, didn’t you?

Apparently we have beaten Liverpool to the signing of 19 year old defender Yago Fernandez. The Daily Mirror reported that he said –

This is the biggest opportunity of my life. I know Wenger works with young players and I will have more chance at Arsenal than in Spain.

I am not sure how much truth there is behind the signing also I know nothing about him. He is currently at Valencia and would cost us £100,000. We shall see. We were also linked with Dani Alves, from what I am aware he is awesome. But plays in the right wing back position. We already have Eboue, Hoyte and maybe Gilbert so I am note sure if the rumours have any substance, plus I think he would cost a bit, the money needs to go on a wide player with pace and a goalkeeper.

American billionaire Stan Kroenke has pretty much bought ITV’s shares in the club, 9.99% apparently. This has of course fueled major speculation that we are in a possible takeover situation. I am really not sure what to make of it all. I am going to leave it for the moment to see if anything else emerges.

Team news for tomorrow –

We have Gilberto back and Jeremie should back. However Eboue is a doubt. He has a problem with his groin. We’ll have a test on Friday and see after that. It is unbelievable. He was out for six weeks and then played a complete game when perhaps he had not recovered. Sometimes that is the price that you pay; you get another injury.

The ever injured Eboue should not play in my opinion, Hoyte is available so slot him in. We do not need to risk Eboue. My initial thoughts on the starting line-up are as follows –

Adebayor, Aliadiere

Rosicky, Diaby, Gilberto, Ljungberg

Clichy, Toure, Gallas, Hoyte

Lehman

There is no way on god’s earth that Hleb or Baptista deserve to start. For me we basically have two options – put Ali up top with Ade or play Ade on his own and 5 in midfield. Fabregas should be rested with Diaby central. That is my preliminary starting line-up, it may change.

Have a wonderful Good Friday.

4 Responses to “Rumourville, i.e. takeover and transfers”

  1. Alves is said to cost anywhere from about 12 to 40 million pounds.

    Liverpool last season had personal terms agreed with him, but on the last possible minute, Sevilla doubled the price of the player to 12 million and Liverpool had to go for Pennant on the right side.

  2. Arrgh.

    Forgot to mention that they pulled the dirty trick on transfer deadline day. Otherwise we’d have had someone to cover for Finnan.

  3. […] Rumourville, i.e. takeover and transfers Good Morning, what a beautiful day. The sun is shining and despite knowing I have to get a good chunk of my […] […]

  4. beingsven said

    We (Liverpool) have Arbeloa, who can play either of the fullback positions.

    Alves would be a useful player at either Arsenal or Liverpool.

    btw, my first time here, and you’ve got yourself quite a nice site here.

    Well done.

Leave a Reply

 
