Arsenal News Blog

fact and opinion intertwined

Who would you pick for today’s North London derby?

Posted by James Dall on 21, April 2007

Good morning, in around two and a half hours a huge game will kick off that will more than likely effect my mood for the rest of the weekend.  I am seeing  my girlfriend tonight so here is hoping for a win eh! If we can stay unbeaten now until the end of the season it really would put us in good stead for August. There is still plenty of talk about Dein and a possible hostile takeover. I am not going to dwell on this issue too much today, the focus should be the North London Derby.

After the complete nonsense that Arsene might quit, he said –

I can only say I am committed to do as well as I can for the club and for the team as long as my contract lasts, I have always done that.

I never for a minute thought he would quit, right now he has no reason too. When speaking about a possible renewal after next season –

It depends how well we do next season and how the situation will go because I have high targets for next season. I knew that with a young team going to a new stadium, we could struggle a little bit this year. But we have to be back on track fighting for the Premiership next season.

I think a lot of people have high hopes for next season. It is key that we get back to challenging for the Premiership. It certainly appears that next season is a season Arsene sees as the one it might all come together. Henry also echoes Arsen’s feeling on the matter.

Stan Kroenke up his stake yesterday to 12.19%. Surely he is aware of the unrest this is all causing. Hmmm the thought of a possible takeover from a foreigner really annoys me. I am happy to see that it appears most of the Arsenal Board will fight it.

Before I move on to the team news etc, Henry has once again denied he will leave us

I have three years left on my contract at Arsenal. I love this club. I am happy here and I have no reason to leave. For me, it is important that I feel pride when putting on the Arsenal jersey.

 I wish he was available for today’s game, he always seems to bag against Spurs.

Anyway, with doubts over Freddie and Fabregas it seems both are ok –

Cesc is in the squad. But he is not completely fresh at the moment. Freddie is in the squad too and so is Abou Diaby.

I am not entirely sure if Cesc will start, I imagine Diaby definitely will. It is hard for me to pick a starting line-up not knowing who is actually available. The back four, GK and striker pick themselves – Clichy, Gallas, Toure, Eboue, Jens and Ade. As mentioned the other day if the back four play like they did against City then we will be in all sorts of trouble. Spurs have some dangerous players and will be out to hammer us today. Eboue/Clichy really need to deal with Lennon, whichever side he plays. Not an easy task but both our full backs are certainly fast enough. Berbatov is a quality player and they often enjoy long balls up to him. It is vital that Toure/Gallas deal with him, unlike how they dealt with Crouch. Defoe is always a danger of course, however they do have problems in the full back area so I would love to see our team really try and hurt them there. With Rosicky on the left and Hleb on the right, then Gilberto in-front of the back four we have two midfield spots to fill. I guess he will pick the two fittest out of Fabregas, Freddie and Diaby. If one or two of them are struggling Denilson will come in. Therefore I would go with…

Adebayor

Rosicky, Diaby, Fabregas, Hleb

Gilberto

Clichy, Gallas, Toure, Eboue

Lehman

I am going to crack on with my dissertation until the game, have a brilliant Saturday.

7 Responses to “Who would you pick for today’s North London derby?”

  1. sussexgooner said

    I would play Justin Hoyte at rb and Eboue in front of him in place of Hleb.

  2. AFC said

    Move gilberto up for diaby and replace diaby with baptista

  3. Dude said

    Sussexgooner has a good point, Hleb is out of form and Eboue can’t defend. In fact, it might be a long term option for us.

  4. The current Board’s intention of holding onto their shares for a year is comical and naive! What is likely to happen is that the club will face a year of extreme uncertainty and instability which is bound to find its way on the playing field

    Lets hope that spurs are their usual error prone selves in defence today!

  5. Thanks, always good posts on your blog!

  6. movies sex farm lesbian sex bang lesbian farm

  7. health illinois unicare unicare health quote

Leave a Reply

 
